Japan trip: Prologue

Ewe and I raced down from Katoomba as quickly as we could.

Well, we raced as fast as public transport would allow us.

We had stuff to do before I flew out.

To be fair, it was not much we had to do.

I had to finish packing and we were going to a gig in the evening.

However, as there was track work (it was a Saturday), it was going to take longer to get home, so we had less time we could spend in the Katoomba area.

After a few hours, we arrived at our homes.

I had a nap, then headed back out again to catch Regurgitator with Ewe and Si.

It was an enjoyable gig.

After we got home, I stayed up for a little while to get the album of one of the support acts (Godswounds; a band I highly recommend seeing).

Then I went to sleep, far more unprepared than I realised.

After about five or six hours, I woke up, tired, yet happy to be leaving Sydney for a few weeks.

Then I checked that I had packed everything, realised there were a few things I hadn’t, frantically unpacked y backpack, repacked it, then anguished over whether I should bring one shirt or not, chose not to bring it and left.

This took longer than I expected, but luckily I still left on time (well, slightly late but not enough to have a major effect).

Ewe was coming with me to the airport.

I said bye to Anna, then we began to make our journey.

From our doors to the flight gate, we had no difficulty.

I went to the bathroom briefly whilst Ewe watched my bag.

Once I was done, I sat next to Ewe for a short period.

Then we heard the final boarding call for my flight.

I hugged Ewe goodbye, then got onto the place as quickly as possible.

A couple of hours later (around midday), my stepmother
picked me up from Tullamarine airport.

We talked a fair bit about what had been happening in our lives during the drive (as I get on quite well with her). On the way to her home we picked up Gabe (as he lives with my stepmother and our other brother).

Once we arrived, I headed out to a Kathmandu outlet to purchase a raincoat as well as a larger bag to travel with.

I needed a bigger bag as whilst I was able to fit all I was taking with me in my backpack, my stepmother pointed out that it would be better if I had a travel bag as well as it would make things much easier.

Getting both a raincoat and a travel bag was easy.

I picked a travel bag that could be used as a backpack. It looked durable when I purchased it and it ended up being worth far more than I paid for it.

The raincoat paid off quite a fair bit as well.

I went to bed earlier than usual that night as I was feeling quite exhausted and I managed to get somewhere around a solid eight hours of sleep.

It was much needed as I couldn’t remember the last time I had anything more than around six.

In the morning I relaxed for a little while. then I headed out for lunch with an ex-housemate. She was doing pretty well.

It was good to see her as it had been roughly a year since we last did.

I hung around in Caulfield Park for a while, watching the ducks and wandering if I would freak out at the last minute and not board the flight to Japan.

Then I went back to my stepmother’s place to get some rest.

The following day I didn’t do much.

Gabe had a job interview, so he went to that and I decided to wander through the suburb he was being interviewed in.

After he was done, we had lunch, then headed back home to rest.

As our flight departed at eleven P.M., my stepmother dropped Gabe and I off at the airport in the evening a couple of hours before we had to be on board.

After we checked our big bags in, we said bye to my stepmother, then walked into customs.
The line was massive.
We were in it for around thirty minutes, although it was probably longer.

I’d like to mention that I have never flown overseas before.

Now, I have seen a lot of New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory and Victoria.

I’m fairly confident in saying that I’ve seen far more of them than a good majority of people I know.

I also went to Adelaide once, but that was the farthest I had ever been.

Before this trip, I had never been overseas; I hadn’t even been to Tasmania.

It wasn’t the biggest shock I’ve received and my stepmother did warn me (who has traveled overseas a fair bit) that it could take a while, but I was still surprised by how big the line to get through customs was.

Anyway, we eventually got through, then I marveled at the duty-free stuff you could buy.

I saw an approximately $6,000 bottle of rum that I said (jokingly) I should purchase, then use a cheap soft drink as a mixer.

I bought some padlocks and almost left my passport behind and Gabe got something to drink.

We then made the way to our gate.

Thankfully the wait was not too long and we were on the plane shortly after arriving.

Once the plane took off, I had a Diazepam to help calm me (I’m don’t handle flying well), inflated a travel pillow I purchased, put it on the back of my neck and then realised I could not sleep with my head being forced forward by the pillow.

There was an empty row next to me that had unfortunately been taken by someone else before I could get to it.

Gabe and I had a seat between us, so we took advantage of it.

I had… maybe four hours of sleep. Maybe.

I tried getting back to sleep but failed miserably, so I leaned over Gabe and looked out the window and found myself in awe of the beautiful colours the atmosphere was.

As I had never seen it that way, I took pictures.

Eventually it came time to descend and the window automatically changed back to being clear.

It was in that moment that I realised it was the window that provided the colour change.

Our descent was fairly straightforward.

It was certainly one of the better ones I’ve ever experienced.

Then the plane pulled up to the gate we were departing from.

We made sure we had what we took on to the plane with us, then left the plane.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Japan trip: Prologue

  1. Ompong says:

    Wow… A jet setter indeed! Though it’s your first time, I know you will enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

