Five-hundred Word Challenge 45: Looking for Somewhere to Eat

So I wasn’t planning on writing about being in Japan until I was home again, but I felt this story was a little too good to pass up the opportunity to tell it.

The brother I’m here with and i haven’t had Japanese food as of yet.

It’s not necessarily due to us not wanting to, as we do.
It’s due to not quite working out where to eat, therefore leading us to resort to an easier option.

Last night we headed out for dinner in the area we are staying (Taito).
There was a place i wanted to check out. It was cheap and it looked good.
My brother (whom I shall refer to as Gabe) thought it looked a bit dodgy, so we kept looking for somewhere to eat.

I kept suggesting the place I wanted to check out and Gabe kept knocking it back.
He ended up giving up and buying Pringles.

I decided to go to the place.

I entered and was given a menu, saw that it was a Chinese food and then realised I was in a Chinese restaurant (I think it was a restaurant; it was very small), picked what I wanted and waited.

It was tofu in a chili sauce and it was worth more than what I paid.
The flavours were not overwhelming and had a good blend to them.

The drink I had was Korean. I don’t know what it was, but I do know it had “Jinroh” written on it. It wasn’t quite my thing but it was still nice.

After I finished and headed back to where Gabe and I are staying, I told him about how he missed out and how good the food was.

I think part of the reason as to why he thought it was dodgy is that there seems to be a brothel right next to / above it and that may have been a detractor for him.

There could indeed be a brothel there, but I don’t care. What I ate was good.

We’re heading out of Tokyo today and coming back for the last few days of our trip. I might try and come back to eat there again.

With that all being said, it is unfortunate that we haven’t had Japanese food yet.
Maybe I did last night and the listing of the food being Chinese was a mistake.
However, I don’t think it quite counts yet.

I hope to soon, as I don’t want to remain in a familiar zone all the time.

Part of the fun is to enjoy the food of another country whilst you’re visiting it.

Anyway, today we’re heading off to some place near Fuji.

We’ve got a lot of ground to cover. That should be fairly exciting.

I’m going to head back to my room now and finish packing for this leg of the journey.

We still have to get breakfast this morning as well.

Who knows what it will be?

I hope it’s delicious.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 15:59:16
Written at the Juyoh Hotel.
Much slower than I expected.
I had to use a keyboard I’m quite unfamiliar with (due to its layout), so It’s most likely the reason why.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five-hundred Word Challenge 45: Looking for Somewhere to Eat

  1. Pingback: Japan Trip: From the Second to the Last day of Tokyo | Stupidity Hole

Leave a Reply

