Five-hundred Word Challenge 43: Where I Wrote the Fastest

So I decided to look at the times of the last fifteen challenges and work out, on average, which was the location I could write faster in.

Eyeballing it would point to my desk at work.
It turns out that work was definitely where I was fastest.

For work, the average time was 10:30.06.
For my desk at home, the average time was 13:18.39.
For bed, the average time was 16:37.74.

I think it’s interesting that the average times are quite close to each other.
I also find it quite unsurprising.

However, looking at these makes me think about what lurking variables could have altered the times, as I was only looking at location for writing speed.
How tired I was, the time of day, whether I was relaxed or not, whether I felt like writing or not, and whether I had any ideas or not all could have affected the results.

It’s quite probable that there are other lurking variables that I can’t think of right now that could have altered the data.

When I was at work, I was writing a lot faster. There was at least one I did right near the end of my work day and that would have been enough to make me write a lot faster, despite the possibility of making what I wrote less coherent.

In bed I was generally more relaxed than I would usually be and despite my attempts to write faster, I would slow down.

Furthermore, I was able to be in a more comfortable position at my desk at work than I was at my desk at home or in bed.

I wasn’t uncomfortable in any of the locations, but I was certainly more comfortable, posture-wise, at work than I was at home at my desk or in bed.

Looking at the times, I think it also shows that I need to work on my writing speed.
Although I can write fast at times, I think that there is still room for improvement, at least based on when I’m trying to think and write as quickly as possible.

I think I’ll be able to consistently be under ten minutes soon enough.
It’s something I need to keep making sure I do though.

Sometimes it isn’t the easiest or most desirable thing in my life, but so long as I keep trying, I’ll keep on improving.

Now, with that being said, I have about one-hundred more words to churn out, so I think I shall write total gibberish and see if I can get away with it, although I’m not really sure if people wouldn’t notice.

Of course, if they did, I would be chased to the ends of the earth for my heinous transgressions and that’s not something I would look forward to.

So now I have an important decision to make.

Do I fill this with total gibberish or do I write something so insightful, it brings harmony and understanding to the universe?

To be honest, I don’t know.

Damn.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 13:02:87.
Written in bed.
Faster than expected, to be honest.

Hooray.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

