Five-hundred Word Challenge 38: an Old Friend

I saw an old friend of mine after work today.
It was the first time I saw them in almost five years.

For me, it was a fairly good time.

We worked together in 2006 and 2007, doing ticket sales for raffles to raise funds for charity over the phone.

We were charity telemarketers.
The place we worked for would probably take far longer to talk about than a five-hundred word challenge would allow, so I’ll save that for another time.

We got along fairly well, as people do, but after I was fired we didn’t have much contact.

The last time we saw each other was in late 2010, when I got a few friends together for drinks. Then our lives diverged for a fair while.

This friend is the one I ran into when I was walking home on Sunday.

So we caught up.
I told him most of everything that happened in my life and he told me the same for him.
We had food and a few drinks.

We organised to meet up again next week.

I’m aware of how uninteresting that sounds, but I enjoyed hanging out with my friend.
It had been far too long since we last did anything and I found myself missing him.

Our stories weren’t entirely happy, but it was good to share them.
However, it is safe to say they were full of good moments.

FRiendships come and go all the time.
Sometimes  they come back into your life unexpectedly.
Sometimes they come back into your life by your hand.

There are going to be some people who you’re going to remember for the rest of your life.
Some people will be gradually forgotten.

I think it is safe to say that this friend is someone I want to remember for the rest of my life.

He was a big part of my life and in some ways still is.

I had some of my most enjoyable times working with him.

I thought I’d have more to say, but I don’t.

It’s not necessary to get into the details of what we talked about.

I’m glad he is back in my life.

Sadly, our lives are going to diverge again quite shortly, but I am going to make more of an effort to remain in contact than I previously had.

Friendships are a lot like friendships.

Well, I really don’t have much more to say about it.

Well, not at this current point in time.

Maybe I’ll have more to say at another point in the future, but for now I really don’t and I don’t know how to fill the rest of this post other than using obvious filler.

But will filler save the day or will it become too full for its own good?

That is both an amazingly unimportant question and a pointless question.

In this case, it’s taking up words and that’s the main thing.

Anyway, with that being said, I think I’m going to aim to sleep.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 16:52:11
Written in bed.
I struggled a fair bit with this one as I didn’t know how to write about it.
I don’t think I completely succeeded but at least I was able to get something typed.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

