A Familiar Bridge

On Sunday I cycled to the suburb I grew up in and also lived in for a couple of years after moving out of home.
I only went for the purpose of taking a picture of a particular bridge to use as my twentieth entry into Leanne Cole‘s “Monochrome Madness“, as this Wednesday is theme Wednesday for “MM” (with “bridges” being the theme).

I’ve taken a lot of photos of Anzac Bridge (I think), as I live near it.
I’ve also taken a lot of photos that feature Sydney Harbour Bridge (I think).
It would have been easy to use pictures of either of those for this but I my preference was for another one.

I did get a bit anxious as a I drew close to the suburb as a few of my memories of living there are not good. I still kept going though as my desire for a photo of this bridge outweighed my desire to be elsewhere.

When I got to the bridge I did become slightly emotional.
It was a bridge I crossed a lot when I attended high school.
It was also a bridge I crossed a few times when walking and cycling to explore the area I lived in.

Before it was in its current state, it had wooden planks for the walkway.
When I was cycling across it as a kid once (I may have been a young teenager), my front wheel became stuck as the planks were laid from end to end instead of side to side.

It was not a pleasant experience.

As an adult I had crossed it far less. Still, there were times when I needed to walk, so I would use it.

For me, the bridge holds a lot of sentimental value as I’ve crossed it a lot and seen it change.
It has, in a way, been a major part of my life.

Seeing it for the first time in a while was weird.
It was also comforting to know it was still there.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy.

IMG_5236

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

