Five-hundred Word Challenge 34: Staring out a Window

Sometimes when you’re at work you will somehow find yourself staring out a window, wondering about all the lives that are outside your office.
A lot of them may be heading to their respective work places and you begin to wonder if they also think about what other people outside their offices do and whether they think about anything that would challenge a routine they may have gotten themselves into that they are either unable or unwilling to escape.

Sometimes I wonder if they are only doing what they’re doing as a temporary thing or if they decided it would be better to give up on dreams that they had, hence their work lives becoming the predominant driving force behind their existence.

Maybe some of them only do it to kill time as whilst they have strong passions, they do not feel the need or the ability to follow them all the time so the job they have serves as a balance.

Sometimes I wonder if the parks in Sydney have a lot of people in them at any given time during the working week, playing, relaxing, laughing and having general fun.
Sometimes I wonder if any of them feel any envy for people staring out windows, being off the ground in a building looking at views that are otherwise difficult to see.

Maybe everyone envies everyone to an extent due to a craving for things we do not have.

Maybe I am thinking about this a bit too much.

Whilst I would stare out the window next to me more often, I am unfortunately unable to as the blinds for it a usually shut due to the amount of sunlight that gets through it, making it difficult for some people in my office to do their job.

I wouldn’t put this down to poor planning but more an unfortunate layout for my office.

Maybe the people who planned the layout had very little to work with or maybe they didn’t care.

Maybe I’ll find out one day.

Sometimes when I enter my office it is with great hesitation, wondering if I should keep doing what I’m doing currently.

When I work on a Saturday, I am usually a bit more enthused as the shift is a fair bit quieter (as there are less people working on a Saturday than any given weekday).
I can get a fair bit of work done and feel relaxed about it.

The office lights are off and natural light fills the space nicely.

Things are a lot less tense and people are more likely to be jovial.

Well, there is a fairly decent lack of seriousness during the week but it can usually be as tense as everything else happening.

During a Saturday, it is certainly much more laid back and the environment feels much better.

Although, sometimes I can’t help but stare out the window still, wondering why I still sit in an office when I could be outside and stretch my legs.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 10:48:15
Another one written at work.
I’m a bit more comfortable, desk and position-wise, than I am in bed or at my table at home.
I might do another one at work before doing more at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

