Five-hundred Word Challenge 31: Beard and the Seasons

SUMMER:

The thick growth on the face is keeping my chin, jaw and neck warmer than I thought it would.
The season started off okay, but the cycle of dry and humid heat is making it almost a danger to keep growing the beard.
I think it’s about time to get rid of it as if I keep allowing it to grow, things could become dangerous.
The last time this happened, I almost set my whole face on fire and I definitely do not want that to happen again.
Sure, there are worse things, but still, it’s time to start chopping this once glorious specimen of growth off and work on having something a little more manageable.

AUTUMN:

I didn’t expect it to take that long, but at least now my face is feeling much more fresh than it had previously.
It took much longer than expected and there was hair everywhere afterwards, but at least I kept the chops.
They’re feeling a bit fuzzy at the moment and I expect they’ll grow to feel even fuzzier, but maybe I’ll keep them short for a while.
I do wish they looked more like filthy chops than the ones I’ve got though.
The rest of my face feels rather naked and barren without the thick beard that graced it before, but at least I don’t look unkempt and wild anymore.
It’s certainly nice having a visible chin again and not having to worry about food getting caught and possibly lost in facial hair.

WINTER:

Why did I shave my beard?
It was a bad idea.
Every year I forget how exposed my face becomes to the elements.
I forget how biting the morning cold is on my naked chin.
Why did I shave the chops?
My inability to grow filthy ones is never a good reason to expose more of my face to a harsh, horribly cold wind.
I look much younger than I am and I get to feel colder than I should all because I decided it was a good idea to look cleaner earlier in the year and reduce the risk of damaging my face.
I should have tried to keep growing it and work on preventing accidents.
It would have been a better decision.

SPRING:

Finally, the cold is over. The sun is out and warming me wonderfully.
It seemed much colder than it has been over the past few years.
The short bristles on my face have sprung as the temperature has risen.
A short growth has burst forth from my skin and shall soon grow into something mightier.
Something to protect my chin and jaw.
Something that may make my neck look as though it is hidden.
Maybe I’ll let it grow wild and unkempt in appearance.
It would certainly look quite different from something that has gone through grooming.
I will let it grow wild.
They may be young now, but the hair on my face will grow strong.
Who cares about the dangers?

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 15:26:24
Written in bed.
It looks as though I write faster at work than anywhere else.
Still need to do a few more cycles.

I got the idea to write something about facial hair today as I shaved off my beard on Thursday.
I hadn’t intended to grow a beard.
About two weeks before my stats exam I stopped shaving; my reason being that time spent shaving was time not spent studying.
After the exam I didn’t want to spend the time shaving as it would have taken longer than I wanted to bother.
After about seven weeks, my desire to not have a beard overtook my desire to not spend time shaving.
I did keep the chops though. They’re not that great and I’ll end up removing them soon enough but for now I’m fine with them.

Anyway, I decided to write about having a beard and shaving.
Then that quickly evolved into writing about facial hair throughout the seasons.

So… yeah.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

