Burning Drawers

Here’s a picture I took in 2012.
A bunch of people I knew and I set fire to two drawers.
I won’t go into detail as to why but I will say that it did provide a sense of catharsis.

Fire is interesting in how destructive and creative it is.
It does a lot of damage to the Australian bushland but it is needed for some plants to release their seeds.

The shapes and patterns it creates are usually brief before they disappear.

It is something that is feared and respected in equal measure.

I like how in this photo the flames are mostly wisps, slowly consuming the frame before it becomes not much more than ash.

In the middle of the frame sits paper just before it completely ignites.

I also like how the only colours in the photo are provided by the flames.
I think it is a stronger photo for it.

This was a lucky photo for me as it was a couple of shots before the flames had died down a bit before they strengthened again.

This is my choice for The Daily Post‘s weekly photo challenge this week.
Close Up” is the theme.

I hope you enjoy.

063

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Burning Drawers

  1. lulu says:

    A lucky shot indeed. Love the drama of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. luckykaye says:

    Great shot. I’ve tried several times to get a good capture of fire, but none have worked as well as this! am jealous šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

