Five-hundred Word Challenge 28: Writing Speed

I was going to write about my working on music over the weekend but I ended up changing my mind.

I’ve been thinking (very briefly over the last couple of hours) about what affects my writing speed.

It seems that I’m able to write faster at work than at home at a table or in bed.

It seems.

I think it has a lot to do with how the positioning of my arms is altered based on the different surface levels that I work with.

At work I wouldn’t call my desk the most comfortable but I think I’m able to type faster as the desk is lower than the table I have at home.

When I’m typing in bed, I’m usually feeling much more relaxed than I would normally and I don’t have much support for my arms.

I think that, if that is the case, then I need to test this to see if it is the case.

I know that a lot of it does have to do with how tired I am as whilst I am still able to think with clarity, I find it harder to get my thoughts written than when I’ve had a good sleep.

I’m going to test this by cycling through the places I type for each new challenge I manage to type.

My typing speed may also be affected by environment so this can be tested at the same time.

Hopefully this also leads to me finding out if my ability to write in a stream-of-conscious manner is also affected by environment.

I think that three of each will be sufficient enough to show me where I work best.What

There is also the possibility that where I’m typing doesn’t matter so much and it is entirely based on how tired I am at any given time.

Maybe it falls down to how good an idea is, or maybe there is not cause and it is completely random.

Maybe I should stop thinking about it so much and just get on with typing out more words right now.

I think that this is a good thing to test.
What someone is working with can have a significant impact on their ability to work at any given time, so finding out anything that may be affecting performance and then working on that can overall produce better results.

Well, that was a lengthy bit of waffling.

I don’t know what else I can write about my wanting to test what affects my ability to write quickly.
I thought I’d be able to say much more about it, but that does not seem to be the case.

Maybe I should head to bed.

It’s still so early though.

I wonder if listening to music has any detrimental impact to my writing speed.

I do think that ambient music would have less of an affect than something more attention-grabbing.

I don’t think I’ll test that though.

I think I’ll stop waffling now.

Or will I?

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 21:46:32
I wrote this whilst in bed and it’s more than double the time of the last one.
Oh well. Bed is comfy.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five-hundred Word Challenge 28: Writing Speed

  1. Ompong says:

    Writing in bed is not ideal… hehehe!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

