Five-hundred Word Challenge 27: On Mondays and Being Busy

So I was going to make this post about how Mondays were invented by some evil alien lizard race from some living planet in order to enslave the human race to do their evil bidding without us knowing but I realised I had no idea on how to make it interesting or stupid enough to be worth reading so I decided to stop.

The other thing is that made it difficult for me is that I don’t hate Mondays.
Nor do I dislike Mondays.

I think they major problem with Mondays that people have is that they crave the weekend too much.

Sure, the weekend is a great time if you don’t work them but they are only days, just like Monday.

Monday being the traditional beginning of the work week makes it seem as though the weekend is a massive distance away, but usually it, like other working days, goes by quite quickly.

I like Mondays as they represent a beginning and an end at the same time and also due to them being a day of the week I get to live.

I don’t think that it makes too much of a difference when a work week begins and ends.

There probably is some sort of importance behind how the traditional work week is designed and why it is favoured over, say, ending a work week on a Wednesday and starting it on a Saturday, but I don’t know what it would be.

There’s a lot that can be done during any day of the week if one tries to make the most of their time but I think this is overlooked, which is why a weekend can become quite busier than expected.

With that being said, people need time to rest as well.

I’ve read that my generation is trying to keep as busy as possible and it is making us depressed but we don’t mind too much.

I do like to keep busy and do a lot of things but I recognise that I need a break every now and then lest I burn out if I don’t take one and push on all the time.

If it is true that my generation wants to be as busy as possible, doing as much as we can, despite our mental health, then it’s quite worrying.

I don’t quite understand that kind of behaviour.

I think it might stem from some sort of fear of not achieving anything by certain ages, or fear of living an unfulfilled life.

Personally, I find that I can get a lot more done with the occasional break than going at full speed all the time.

If you don’t take time to recharge, you run the risk of continually going with little to no energy.

The body needs to recharge every now and then, as well as the brain.

It can be hard to rest and stop if there is an inherent fear, but it’s much harder to keep pushing all the time.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 10:12:04
Significantly faster than the last one.

Despite my lack of dislike or hate for Monday, I don’t think it’s a good reason to have trouble writing a stupid story about it.

I wrote this yesterday but I (repeatedly) forgot to upload it.
Seems to be some sort of side-effect of experiencing Monday.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

