Five-hundred Word Challenge 26: Redundancy

Heading up to Katoomba was cancelled due to the weather.
It’s not the most annoying thing to happen in the world.
I wouldn’t have been able to get a good shot of Mount Solitary.
Ewe and I would have been working on a garden whilst we were there but we wouldn’t have been able to had we gone this weekend.
Apparently when it rains in Katoomba, it’s bad.

On the plus side, I get to spend the weekend cleaning.
There’s a valuer coming out on Monday. I’d prefer the place looking tidy.

About two months ago it was announced at work that our client was going to be taking the work internally.
This means that unless the company I work for is able to obtain a new client, they are most likely closing the office later this year (assuming the transition with the current client goes smoothly).
This also means that, as I’ve been with the company for a little over seven years and have accumulated some leave, I should be getting a decent payout if the office does indeed close.

I’m very excited about this as it means I’ll be free of debt and I’ll be able to switch to studying full-time.

I’m not fussed about not having much money as I’m not overly concerned about money in the first place.

I’ve decided to apply to work for the client.
The only reason is to do with money.

I still intend to study full-time but there’s no way to start that until next year anyway.

The salary I’d get working directly for the client is much better than what I earn now.
By the time I would have to start full-time study I would have earned more than what my redundancy would provide so I’d be going into studying with a bit of extra cash and I’d also be free of debt.

As said, I’m not fussed about not having much money but I do recognise the need for having something saved for emergencies.

Working for the client directly will allow me to have enough so I won’t have to worry about money for a while.

Obviously this is assuming I get accepted.

I think it’s funny as to how what I wanted to do changed.

When it was announced that the client was going to take everything internal, I was so happy and excited I went out clubbing that night and got drunk and danced for the first time in a very long time.

I began to plan a driving trip around Australia I would undertake once I was made redundant as driving around Australia is something I’ve wanted to do for a very long time.

As the weeks have passed I’ve begun to have second thoughts and realised that whilst I’d be fine if redundancy came up, I’d be taking better care of myself if I transferred over.

Sometimes some things you want to do are better left being postponed if it means you’ll be better off.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 16:23:79
Getting slower.
Oh well. I’m not feeling fussed right now.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

