Five-hundred Word Challenge 24: Coffee Story

I was getting a coffee the other day.
It was a large latte as I felt like having one.
I love coffee.

Anyway, it was a good coffee, but there was one small problem.

It was ALIVE!

I started drinking it when I heard some angry sounding gurgling coming from my cup.
I took the lid off and saw that it was bubbling.

I drank some more because I don’t know.
Then it bubbled more intensely.

I didn’t know what to think of this, so I carefully placed the cup down so it didn’t explode in my face as I thought that was going to be the most likely outcome for what was happening.

A few seconds after placing it down and the coffee took off at a really fast speed.

I didn’t know what was going on, but not wanting to lose my coffee, I decided to chase it and hopefully apprehend it before I lost the ability to finish drinking it forever.

It moved so fast that it became airborne and subsequently hit a wall.
It slid down pathetically and came to the ground with a soft thud and remained unmoving.

I approached it carefully and picked it up. It remained still in my hand.

I went to drink the remained and then it took off out of my hand. It landed on the ground and kept on moving.

I chased it around the office, trying to keep up with it but the coffee was far too nimble for me to get it easily.

It weaved through cubicles with great ease and was almost taunting me as I clumsily grabbed at it whilst crashing into chairs and walls.

Eventually it reached a hall.
I sprinted towards it.
It seemed a bit slower.
I gained considerable distance.
I dived.
I felt my fingers gingerly brush the coffee.

It then took off again and made straight for the elevator.

It closed the doors before I was able to get in so I ran to the fire escape and ran down the stairs as quickly as I could.

After getting out of the fire escape I ran to the ground foyer as quickly as I possibly could.
The coffee wasn’t there.
It had already left the building.

I ran out to the road and spotted it immediately.

It saw me from a distance and began to move.

I ran as fast as I could to try and catch it.

It seemed tired but kept on moving as quickly as it could.
Luckily it wasn’t fast enough.

I chased it all the way to a park when it suddenly stopped.
It seemed to be too tired to continue.
I got to it and saw that it was done.

I picked it up with both hands and went to finish it off.

It launched right out of my hands into the trees.

I cursed my luck. Never had a coffee escaped me before.
I know that one day I would see it again.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 10:16:77
A slight bit slower than last night but I’m still happy with the time.
It seems to indicate that I’m getting faster.
Not sure if I’m becoming a better writer, but that can come at a later stage.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

