Five-hundred Word Challenge 15: Ankle Injury

On the morning of the sixteenth of last month I managed to hurt my right ankle in a rather painful and somewhat uncool way.
Outside of my work place there are three separate flights of stairs close to each other.
They are all rather small (about six stairs each).

I was on the opposite side of the road to work when I ran across the road (as one sometimes does when they are not crossing at a pedestrian crossing and are crossing the Pacific Highway).
I got half of the way and had to stop until traffic stopped. I then crossed the rest of the way and sort of bounded onto the first stair of one of the flights.
When I did this I somehow managed to do something odd with my right foot.
I’m not sure what I did but I ended up on my ankle somehow.
Luckily I did not fall over but I ended up limping into work.

Throughout the day I had my shoes off due to how sore my ankle was.
I was alright with it until it was time for me to finish for the day.

As I go to university on Thursdays and have to move quickly to the train station to catch the earliest train I can (so I can catch a bus that will get me to uni before a class starts (if I’m not cycling) due to how the public transport system works in Sydney despite having ninety minutes and a short distance to travel from work to uni, I find things rather bothersome if they slow me down in any way.

Obviously there are some things that are an exception but they are few and far between.

I left work slightly earlier than I normally would and had to limp all the way to the train station as my ankle begun to hurt even more than it had been earlier.

It wasn’t what I would classify as fun.

Luckily I was able to catch the train I wanted to and I was able to reach uni with enough time to have lunch (due to working a much shorter day on Thursdays I don’t have a lunch break at work).

My ankle was getting worse though.

Eventually I had to leave class early as I couldn’t handle sitting down for much longer and felt a strong need to take my shoes off.

When I left my ankle was much worse than when I arrived. It took me about ten minutes to get to the bus stop. It usually takes me around two to three.

Eventually I arrived home and once I took my shoes (and socks) off I had significant relief.
My ankle had swollen quite a fair bit, which was to be expected.

The following day the swelling had gone down significantly and I was able to work much more than limp. I was rather grateful for this.

It’s not the worst I’ve had, but it was rather painful.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 16:21:24
Still aiming for under ten minutes.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

