Five-hundred Word Challenge 11: We’re Playing Live

Fe and I are going to be playing live next month.
This is, for me, very exciting and I’m sure it is for Fe as well.
We’ve been working on our music for almost two-and-a-half years now.
We could have performed a lot sooner and were aiming for the middle of last year at the latest, but things got out of hand.

I’m working and studying and Fe also studies.
There have also been a lot of personal stuff that’s taken up time as well.
We practise a lot though.

We’ve also been slow when it comes to writing lyrics.
Some songs we’ve worked feel like they’d be more appropriate with them than without.

I think being slow with lyrics has caused us to postpone playing live a bit as we want the songs we’ve been working on to be in something close to a complete state as I imagine they’re going to be shaped further by how well they come across in front of an audience.

Another thing that has slowed us a bit is a lack of a drummer.

Originally I didn’t want to have one as I didn’t see much of a point but Fe convinced me otherwise.
We tried to get Ili to join us but we didn’t gel as a unit (he didn’t like our songs much which is understandable as everyone has different tastes) so that put a slight halt on performing live but we didn’t try much after that.

But now it’s happening. We’re going to be performing.
I’m elated.
We still will be working with programmed drums but I’m trying to make them somewhat interesting instead of the basic programming we’ve been playing to.
We may be able to get a drummer for some songs though. Hopefully we can.

It’s put us in a position where we have to write lyrics.
We have very little choice at this stage.
I want to make sure they’re decent but Fe has told me not to worry about it as it’s something we can work on later.
I’m going to do my best not to worry and write things that work for what I’m going to be singing and I imagine he’ll be doing the same for what he sings and once we’ve performed live we’ll work on it further from there.

We haven’t locked a specific date in but we do have the venue and month.
We do also know what date we’re looking to play and we’re pretty sure the people who live in the place we’ll be playing in (it’s a house but there are gigs run there on occasion) will be fine with it.
We just need to let them know first.

We’ve been getting much better since we decided on the month.
It’s not that we were bad; it’s that there has been plenty of room for improvement.

Fun times are ahead. I’m looking forward to this.
I don’t know how good we’ll be, but we’re going to enjoy it.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 14:17:63

Much faster than last night and I managed to be faster whilst writing about life.
That makes me happy.
I’m still going to try and go faster.
I’m going to aim for under ten minutes.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

