Five-hundred Word Challenge 8: The Cycle to Uni (and Beyond)

Thursday was the first time in a long while that I had cycled to uni.
It kind of showed.

After having a fairly busy five-and-a-half hours at work I took to my bike and began a not-so-lengthy journey.

Getting to the Sydney Harbour Bridge was, as always, a straightforward affair.
Actually the whole thing was quite straightforward.

When I reached King Street was when my lack of cycling there (or anywhere for the past few weeks) began to take effect as I struggled a slight bit on the uphill portion.

I also struggled with traveling along Norton Street but I was able to get past it faster than I had expected.

Once I reached Anzac parade, the cycle became much easier for me as it was mostly flat from there. I was able to go a lot faster and managed to get to Uni with time to spare.

It took a total of fifty-seven minutes and forty-three seconds which isn’t my fastest time but I’m going to be able to do it a lot faster next time.

I have ninety minutes to get from work to uni.
The plan was always to get back into cycling there but I didn’t for the first three weeks I had to attend and two of those trips took the full ninety minutes.
Both were from work. The other was from home (as I was ill on the day).

It shouldn’t take that long. The distance traveled is less than fifteen kilometers.

I now have more incentive to cycle (outside of the enjoyment of cycling) so I’m going to be doing that a lot more.

It’s not just to uni that, for me, cycling is faster.
On average, I can get to and from work in less time than catching public transport.

Anyway, once I finished up at uni I headed to a liquor store as I was heading to a party the following day.

Cycling home with study material, a camera, three bottles of alcohol and a change of clothes isn’t exactly fun, but I somehow did it.

Nothing broke in my bag and the traffic was fairly tame, albeit somewhat heavy.

I don’t plan on ever doing it again though as the weight caused the bag straps to dig into my shoulders a lot which left me feeling fairly sore once I got home.

I was hoping to do a bit of cycling this weekend but unfortunately the weather got in the way (as well as studying and thankfully music as well), so I resume cycling tomorrow.

I plan to get back to cycling the majority of the time so I can cut down on travel cost, time and also so I can do something I find more enjoyable than sitting on a bus and waiting.

I hope it doesn’t rain during the week as, whilst I will do it, I don’t often enjoy cycling in the rain.

I don’t think it’s any better than other travel options; it’s what I prefer.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 23:55:74

Getting slower.
I’m going to try and halve that for the next one.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

