Five-hundred Word Challenge

I decided to see how fast I could type something consisting of five-hundred words.
However, I feel I may have bitten off more than I can chew.

I’m trying to force myself to work more on writing by writing five-hundred words each day.
The problem I have is that I have far more ideas than I do time. My mind goes off in many different directions and it can end up compounding with the issues I have with procrastination.

Once I push through and force myself then I don’t have a problem with writing.

Well, most of the time.

I usually don’t have a problem with writing when I sit down and do it.
Sometimes I can work on something short or a review for hours more than I need to.

The review of Apex Predator – Easy Meat took around a month to write as I didn’t know what to write about it most of the time, even though I knew what to write, if that makes sense.

Another reason as to why I’m forcing myself to write five-hundred words each day is that with all the overtime I’ve been working I’ve become a bit lazy which has led to a lot of things going by the wayside. Music, writing, drawing, photography and seeing friends have become less of a priority. I’m still doing all of those but not near the amount I am able to at the moment. Obviously they all require their own individual attention but at least if I force myself to write then that’s one less thing I’m being lazy with.

I am wondering what I can think of that is interesting to write about right now but I’m really unsure. I’ve been home for about fifty minutes at this stage. I cycled home and had a shower, then had to get my mouse working as it wasn’t being detected by my laptop (the mouse needs replacing). Now I’m writing this.

Am I writing about writing or am I just writing about my desire to write more than I do?
I’m not entirely sure at the moment.

It’s most likely an irrelevant thought that is designed to make me feel far more philosophical than I actually am.

Or it’s just a train of thought.

I do know I feel a bit tired at the moment, so writing is a little more difficult than it should be.

Oh well.

At least if I work on this enough I will improve my ability to write. That is important to me.
I like the ability to write a lot and I like that I can keep improving. Maybe I’ll find my own style one day. Maybe not.

So long as I keep improving.

I imagine that the more I write the more I’ll be able to get some of my ideas down.
My apologies for something else that is obvious.

Google thought it would take me about fifty-five minutes to get home using my bike.
It took me twenty-nine.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 16:48:37.

I think I can do it faster tomorrow.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five-hundred Word Challenge

  1. Ompong says:

    Writing with at least 500 words is really a challenge. I look forward to reading what you will write to meet such a challenge! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

