Not Enough Sleep

Here’s an incredibly short bit of fiction I slowly worked on recently.
It’s not anything great but I find it slightly enjoyably.
I wrote it as I needed to write something as all the overtime I’m doing was leaving me feeling a bit unable to write.

I hope you enjoy.

—–

I’m rather exhausted currently.
I’m trying hard not to nod off at my desk.

A few days ago I was far worse than I am now.
Despite copious amounts of caffeine consumption, I remained struggling to work without falling asleep.

I almost made it.
I was working overtime when my eyelids became too heavy to keep open.
I slowly begun to recline in my chair until I could recline no further.
I fell backwards.
Once my chair reached the ground I slipped off it and into a hole behind me and continued my descent.

Light faded quickly as darkness became thick.
Sounds slowly grew soft.

Eventually I was unable to tell if I was still falling or not.
All I wanted was sleep.

I decided to reach out to see if I could grip a surface.
There was nothing.
I began to despair as I felt I would not return.

After a while I was able to make out objects in the far distance.
They were flickering faintly.
Some were brighter than others.
They reminded me of stars.

They began to approach but they did not increase in size.
As they approached a high-pitched noise began.
It brought incredible pain.

As the lights drew closer the noise intensified.
I found myself less and less able to handle what I was experiencing.
Suddenly I felt as though I was being violently pulled upwards.
I was almost certain I was going to fall out of my skin.

I was able to spy a light source above me that grew larger and larger until I passed through it and found myself next to my chair in my office.
I sat back down at my desk, looked out the window to see the setting sun and slowly drifted off to sleep.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

