Dinner with my Ex (and some other things)

I’m quite good with these innovative and game changing titles.

I spent a short period of today listening to some of the most droll vocal recordings I’ve heard in a long time.

I wanted to spend that time outside, cycling or swimming or doing something stupid.

Or, or, or, or, or…

I had an interesting weekend, at least for the evenings.
I attempted to write another post. I would’ve done this particular one a few weeks ago when the events it is about were still fresh, but I didn’t and am now slowly working on it. Hopefully I’ll have it completed tonight.

A friend of mine who lives near Melbourne showed up unexpectedly as he was up to attend an event that had to do with a wedding.
We went out for a couple of drinks and dinner. We also had a really intense, detailed discussion about council approval for property development, wearing a helmet and ebola. That was Saturday night.

I had dinner in Newtown with my ex on Sunday night. Despite a bit of awkwardness, it was sweet.

It started with a long hug before we ordered food.

She had bought me a toy kiwi that I named Pistachio as well as some peanut butter cups (which I consumed yesterday).

I brought along a key chain figurine that looked like Sackboy for her, as she had left it at my place when her moving out happened.

After dinner, she asked if I wanted Froyo. I told her I couldn’t afford it (due to the possibility of moving). She asked if I would have some of hers if she bought some. I said I’d try a bit.

Once we were walking along King Street, chatter picked up a bit more. It was mostly my ex talking with me listening (I didn’t mind), whilst holding and stroking Pistachio and thinking about whether the scene looked strange or not.

My ex had to get money out and so she ducked into a pub quickly whilst I sat outside and began to think about how I was just a man holding a toy kiwi and whether anything would come out of the night. I was enjoying the company of my ex, but I felt really uncertain about what was happening. I knew she was a bit anxious about having dinner but she was still being a much better conversationalist than I was and my being quiet probably contributed to how I was feeling.

I’ve had frozen yoghurt once, maybe twice before in my life.
I don’t remember it being so sugary.
It was certainly delicious though.

We started heading back afterwards, interlocking arms for a little while. As we past Tamana’s (an Indian restaurant) my ex suggested that we eat there next time. Knowing that there would be a next time made me quite happy, but I played it cool.

Well, I attempted to anyway.

After a little while we ended up holding hands for a brief period as we walked and talked about life and other things.
I admitted that I missed her; something that I’ve said over messaging but thought it was more appropriate to say in person. She reciprocated.

we decided to walk through Victoria Park and noticed some portable toilets. I decided I wanted to tip one over, so I ran over to where they were. My ex joined me.
However, we didn’t end up doing so, with my reasoning being that I didn’t want to get shit on my shoes.

After spending a bit more time there, we started heading home.
As we got closer, we ended up holding hands again; this time interlocking our fingers. It was nice.

I ended up telling her about how I couldn’t get her out of my head and how I had tried multiple times. I told her I tried to get with other people but she’d come back into my head despite my attempts. I continued for a little bit more and after I finished, my ex told me she thinks about me a bit as well.

It took us a long time for us to say bye to each other.
We hugged each other a lot. I don’t think either of us wanted to part, but maybe I’m wrong.
I asked if she wanted to crash at mine but she declined. It was fine though.

I went to sleep able to smell remnants of her perfume she was wearing. It was a nice way to drift off.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dinner with my Ex (and some other things)

  1. Chyrel Gomez says:

    Maybe you still have feelings for each other. I’m friends with my ex. Well, the most recent one that is but we’re kind of not talking right now. Unlike you guys, we don’t want to be back together and we don’t have the holding hands and those other stuff. We’re better off as friends than lovers kind of thing. He’s dating or trying and I am too. Gosh. It’s kind of complicated. I better stop.

    Like

Leave a Reply

