Cycle Story

This story is going to be brief, but it’s kind of worth telling

 
On Saturday last weekend, I unintentionally cycled 53.75 kilometres.

I was planning on cycling to Tempe Station via Iron Cove as it’s something I hadn’t done before and I’d noticed there is a pathway to get there.

Getting over the hill before Iron Cove Bridge was a hassle as per ususal.

Often there’s a fair bit of wind there but it was a lot calmer this time so it made cycling around Iron Cove much easier.

I reached the pathway fairly quickly and it was fairly straightforward for a while.

Eventually I hit Parramatta Road. This is when things became a bit more difficult.

The only way to cross Parramatta Road without taking a large detour was by going up to the tram (aka light rail) station and crossing that way, which thankfully had an elevator.

Shortly after that, the cycleway ended and signs became far less frequent than they were previously, to the point where I had to guess the direction at times.

After a few mishaps in heading the wrong direction, I eventually found myself in a familiar area, crossing Cooks River via Wardell Road.

I’ve been through this part twice before, doing about 52 kilometres from work to home (about 44 kilometres longer than the usual trip home) as apparently I have an interesting view on what could be classified as sensible.

Being familiar with the area, instead of continuing to Tempe Station (which was quite close), I decided to head out to Strathfield via the Cooks River cycleway as it was pretty close as well.

Well, that’s how I remembered it anyway.

When the track seemingly kept going, I started wondering if I should turn back as I didn’t think I’d have the energy to get back.

Other thoughts amounted to ‘this isn’t quite how I remember it. They must’ve made it longer somehow’.

Eventually I did reach Strathfield with a fair bit of energy remaining. I took a quick break and then began to return.

When I reach Wardell Road again, I had begun to tire. However, I kept pushing because again, apparently I have an interesting view on what could be classified as sensible.

That and I wanted to make it to Tempe Station.

I did make it. It was satisfying. Then, in cliché fasion, I had a wonderful idea.

‘I guess I’ll cycle the rest of the way home!’

Urgh.

I went around Sydney Airport into Mascot, where apart from recognising a few streets, I found myself to be unaware of where I specifically was and where I was meant to be heading.

Somehow I managed to end up reaching Cleveland Street in Redfern after a lengthy period of guesswork, which meant I was able to get onto Abercrombie Street easily and arrive home shortly after that.

My legs were quite sore after that.

On a side note, I stopped off at Broadway Shopping Center on the way home for some minor shopping, but that’s irrelevant.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cycle Story

  1. Chyrel Gomez says:

    That happened to me before. Wanting to do a short ride and ended up with longer mileage. Haha. The happy ending is always making and getting home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

